Ascot and Hamilton Heritage Trail
Learn about Eagle Farm Racecourse and the stunning mansions of Ascot and Hamilton on this historic trail.

About the Ascot and Hamilton Heritage Trail
The Ascot and Hamilton Heritage Trail takes you through a range of sites and events that have helped shape the suburbs’ history, including:
- establishment of the racecourse
- important war-time activity
- the commercial and residential history of Racecourse Road
- its grand mansions.
There are 18 points of interest along the trail.
The 3.5-kilometre route begins near Hamilton Hotel, travels up Racecourse Road to Windermere and Lancaster Roads. It then crosses into Yabba Street and ends at the entrance to the Eagle Farm Racecourse.
Ascot and Hamilton Heritage Trail map
Start the journey at Brett’s Wharf and head toward Kingsford Smith Drive. Finish the trail at Eagle Farm Racecourse to discover its World War II history.
For addresses of all trail stops and the suggested route between stops, download the trail guide.
Points of interest

During World War II, Brett's Wharf played an important role as the receiving dock for the US Air Force's unassembled aircraft.

The only way to reach the Eagle Farm Women's Prison was along a convict-hewn track we know today as Kingsford Smith Drive. Although the prison no longer remains, it is an important archaeological site located approximately 2 kilometres away along Schneider Road.

The brick substation was built in 1947 as a response to the area's increasing population and the need for better services.

In 1953, this road was renamed Kingsford Smith Drive in honour of one of Australia's most important aviators, Sir Charles Kingsford Smith.

The Hamilton Hotel was established in 1865 and the suburb was subsequently named after it.

Opened in 1907, the Tivoli Gardens was an open-air theatre famous in Brisbane for its Vaudevillian acts.

This stately building was built in 1920 as the Hamilton Town Hall and Hamilton Town Council Chambers.

This beautiful church was completed in 1920 as St Augustine's Thank-offering and War Memorial Church.

Racecourse Road was, and still is, the direct path from the river to the racecourse.
%20(1).png)
This is one of the finest examples of Tudor Revival homes in Brisbane.

The grand residence was built around 1886 for politician, J.G. Appel. It was designed by prominent architect, Richard Gailey.

Built in 1938, this exceptional example of Functionalist architecture brings to mind glamorous 1930s Hollywood parties.

Nyrambla epitomises the development of Ascot in the late 1800s, when grand residences were built on the apexes of the suburb's hills.

This house was built in the 1890s as accommodation for horse trainers and their families.

Built in 1920, this was a much-needed permanent fire station to service the Ascot and Hamilton.

The line from Eagle Junction to Ascot Station (originally called Racecourse Station) was opened in 1882 and was used exclusively for race days.

In 1865, the first race meeting was held at the Brisbane Racecourse (now known as Eagle Farm Racecourse).

During World War II, Eagle Farm Racecourse became the first US camp established in Australia.