Fortitude Valley Heritage Trail
Learn about historic buildings in Fortitude Valley on this self-guided heritage tour. Download the trail guide.

About the Fortitude Valley Heritage Trail
Take a journey through Fortitude Valley’s history on the Vibrant Valley Heritage Trail.
You’ll explore important historic sites and events that have shaped the area over time.
This trail reveals:
- the Valley's rise as a commercial and retail centre in the late 19th Century
- important contributions by the Chinese community
- emergence of the Valley as the centre for Brisbane's LGBTI+ community
- the famous Fitzgerald Inquiry era.
Fortitude Valley Heritage Trail map
There are 20 points of interest along this heritage trail.
It begins at the former Post Office on Ann Street, then passes Chinatown Mall to Centenary Place and continues down to Wickham Street.
From Wickham Street, walk along the western section of Brunswick Street, back to Wickham Street and end the walk in Warner Street.
For addresses of all trail stops and suggested route between stops, download the trail guide.
Points of interest
About this stop
The Fortitude Valley Post Office was built in 1887 when the Valley was prospering. The ground floor provided postal and telegraph services, and the upper floor was where the postmaster and his family lived.
About this stop
This two-storey set of brick shops was built in 1924 when the Valley was a bustling hub of commercial activity. Behind the Shannon’s Building is the Winn Street warehouse that was constructed at the same time.
About this stop
In the 1980s, this building was converted into a nightclub called the ‘Cockatoo Club’. The name was changed shortly after to ‘The Beat’ and became one of Brisbane’s favourite gay clubs.
About this stop
These buildings were constructed in the 1880s and replaced earlier buildings. They reflect the commercial growth in the Valley during the economic boom.
About this stop
These buildings were constructed in the 1880s and replaced earlier buildings. They reflect the commercial growth in the Valley during the economic boom.
About this stop
This ornately decorated hotel was built in 1888 and designed by renowned colonial architect, Richard Gailey.
About this stop
Brisbane’s Chinatown was officially opened in 1987. The large, decorative building on the north side of the mall was the TC Beirne Department Store. It was built in 1902 and had its frontage to Brunswick Street.
About this stop
This girls’ school was originally founded on this site in 1863 by the Sisters of Mercy, under the direction of Queensland’s first Catholic bishop, James Quinn.
About this stop
The ornate wall is the only remnant left of the ill-fated Holy Name Cathedral, intended to be the largest Catholic cathedral in the southern hemisphere. Work began in 1928 but was never finished due to the Great Depression.
About this stop
Centenary Place was created in 1925 to commemorate Queensland’s centenary of European settlement.
About this stop
This row of shops was constructed in the 1920s after the roads around Centenary Place were reconfigured.
About this stop
Built in 1905, this building holds a prominent position on the intersection once known as the ‘Valley Corner’.
About this stop
When it was first opened in 1888, the hotel offered 28 bedrooms, 3 parlours, a large bar, billiard room and dining room.
About this stop
Foresters and other Friendly societies were formed in Australia in the 19th Century as support societies for their mainly working-class members. This hall was built in 1889.
About this stop
This 1928 brick building became associated with a notorious episode in Queensland’s recent history – the Fitzgerald Inquiry.
About this stop
This was the site of one of Australia’s worst mass murders after the club was set alight on the night of the 8 March 1973. 15 people were killed.
About this stop
Built in 1923-24, it’s also known as the Fortitude Valley Baby Clinic and Nurse Training Centre.
About this stop
This striking Art Deco landmark was originally the famous McWhirter’s Department Store that was first established 1898.
About this stop
The Overell Department Store, with frontage to Brunswick Street, boasted 20 departments by 1910. This same year, Overell built a second store with Wickham Street frontage. The Wickham Street store was devoted to men’s clothing, while the Brunswick Street store sold women’s apparel and accessories.
About this stop
The church was designed by Richard Gailey and constructed in 1885. Beside the church is the 1906 Sunday School, where the congregation’s children were given religious education.