Skip to main content

Spring Hill Heritage Trail

Link copied

Saunter through Spring Hill’s narrow streets on this walking trail, taking in its rows of modest 19th century cottages.

About the Spring Hill Heritage Trail

Learn about Spring Hill’s rich history through the lives of the people who lived, worked, struggled and played here in years gone by.

Journey through the suburb and discover the stories behind:

  • early European settlement
  • Victoria Park / Barrambin
  • the Spring Hill Baths.

Spring Hill Heritage Trail map

There are 21 points of interest along this 3.2-kilometre trail, beginning at the Lady Bowen Hospital and ending at the Alliance Hotel.

mdi information outline1

Note

  • Some sections of this trail are steep and may not be accessible for people with limited mobility.
  • The homes on this walk are privately owned and not open to the public. 

For addresses of all trail stops and suggested route between stops, download the trail guide.

You can also visit the Old Windmill Tower and Spring Hill Service Reservoirs to discover more of the area's history.

Download the brochures to take with you on your visit.

Points of interest

Lady Bowen Hospital Lady Bowen Lying-In Hospital on Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, 1912 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
Built in 1889, this hospital provided free midwifery services, medical treatment and nursing to expectant mothers.
Boundary Street Entrance to old Cumbooquepa, the residence of Thomas Blacket Stephens, South Brisbane, c. 1872 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
Boundary Street was the original town boundary, when Brisbane’s town limits were proclaimed.
Spring Hill Baths Municipal Baths, Spring Hill, 1910 (Brisbane City Council)
About this stop
Built in 1886, the Spring Hill Baths are the last remaining covered baths in Australia.
The Lady in Blue Aerial photograph showing the mission hall on the corner of Wedd and Fortescue Streets, 1946 (Brisbane City Council)
About this stop
This is the former site of the Presbyterian Mission Hall where Deaconess May Walker helped Spring Hill's poor.
Park Terrace Fortescue Street, 1968 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
This row of 1880s cottages was built as rental investments and called 'Park Terrace'.
Victoria Park / Barrambin Cricket match in Victoria Park, 1930 (Brisbane City Council)
About this stop
Covering 64 hectares, Victoria Park / Barrambin is an historic inner-city park that was first gazetted in 1875.
Gregory Terrace Officers' Camp USA Military Officers Club, 1945 (Brisbane City Council)
About this stop
Directly across the road from Victoria Park / Barrambin, this was the site of the Gregory Terrace Officers' Camp during World War II.
Mrs Long's cottage 116 Isaac Street, undated (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
Built for Mrs Elizabeth Long in 1884, this Local heritage place is one of Brisbane's tiniest houses.
Spring Hollow Hill Street running down to Walter Street, c. 1915 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
The valley where Water Street now runs was originally called Spring Hollow.
Spring Hill Quarry Leichhardt Street quarry, Spring Hill, 1905 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
This quarry supplied stone for much of Spring Hill's late 19th Century street improvements.
A kingdom of happiness Children in a playground at Spring Hill, Brisbane, 1939 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
This park was established in the 1930s for disadvantaged children.
Rogers and Victoria Streets Rogers Street, 1968 (State Library of Queensland, Negative)
About this stop
These are 2 of Spring Hill's most picturesque streets.
The plague Destroyed rats during the bubonic plague in Brisbane, Queensland, 1900-1902 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
The first case of bubonic plague struck Spring Hill in May 1900.
Villa Maria Hostel St Pauls Terrace, 1929 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
This beautiful building was built in the 1920s for the Sisters of Perpetual Adoration.
Thornbury Street cottages Portrait of John Jackson, c. 1905 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
These 1870s cottages are a rare example of this style of housing in Brisbane.
Dahrl Court Dahrl Court, The Telegraph, 13 October 1936
About this stop
Dahrl Court is a set of architecturally designed flats built in 1936. It’s a Local heritage place.
Gloucester Street Brisbane City Council Detail Plan, 1914 (Brisbane City Council)
About this stop
Gloucester Street has several important examples of 19th Century duplexes.
Spring Hill's larrikins The Larrikin Outbreak, Melbourne Punch, 27 February 1896
About this stop
The 'larrikin' emerged in Brisbane in late 19th Century and groups of them caused havoc in Spring Hill.
Former site of the Hospital for Sick Children St Pauls Presbyterian Church in Spring Hill still under construction, c. 1889 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
This was the former site of Brisbane's first children's hospital.
Leichhardt Street St Pauls Terrace, 1929 (State Library of Queensland)
About this stop
The Spring Hill Picture Palace previously stood on the corner of Leichhardt and Boundary Streets.
Alliance Hotel Alliance Hotel, Spring Hill, 1971 (Brisbane City Council)
About this stop
Built in 1888, the Alliance Hotel is a Local heritage place. There has been a hotel on this site from as early as 1864.

Old Windmill Tower and Spring Hill Service Reservoirs

Explore more of the area’s history by visiting the Old Windmill Tower and Spring Hill Service Reservoirs.

Head to the Old Windmill Tower, located next to King Edward Park. Built in 1828, the tower was constructed to support the needs of Brisbane’s convict penal settlement. It’s the oldest surviving European structure in Queensland.

Behind the tower you’ll find the Spring Hill Service Reservoirs. These reservoirs played a vital role in providing fresh water to Brisbane from 1871 to 1962.

To find out more about the sites, download the brochures.