South Brisbane Heritage Trail
Walk the South Brisbane Heritage trail to explore the sites, stories and events that have shaped the area's history.

About the South Brisbane Heritage Trail
The Secrets of South Brisbane Heritage Trail highlights important historical sites, colourful stories and infamous events that shaped the area's history.
The walk's highlights include:
-
South Brisbane's busy wharves
-
Pearl ferry disaster of 1896
-
US military presence during World War II
-
Brisbane's coming of age with World Expo '88.
South Brisbane Heritage Trail map
There are 22 points of interest along this heritage trail.
It begins at the South Brisbane Dry Dock, passes through South Bank and along the river, and ends at South Brisbane Railway Station.
For addresses of all trail stops and suggested route between stops, download the trail guide.
Points of interest

This stretch of the Brisbane River was the site of the former South Brisbane Coal Wharves, opened in 1884.

Built using the best materials, including Helidon stone, the dry dock was officially opened in December 1881.

Created in 1920 by the South Brisbane Municipal Council, the South Brisbane War Memorial Park honours those killed in World War I.

The South Brisbane Post Office was constructed in 1881. By 1897, it had become the South Brisbane Municipal Library and Technical Institute. It was the first free municipal library in Queensland.

Built in 1891-1892, the South Brisbane Municipal Chambers were designed to reflect South Brisbane's prosperity in this era.

This grand masonry house was built in 1890 for the Stephens family. It replaced an older timber house that had been home to important South Brisbane resident, Thomas Blacket Stephens MLA.

This house was built in the 1890s when this part of Grey Street was characterised by a series of large houses on the rise of the hill. During Expo '88, it became the Collins Place Spaghetti House.

Built as the Allan & Stark Drapery, this corner building was completed in 1885. After the devastating 1893 floods, the business was moved to Queen Street in Brisbane City. It became Queensland's foremost department store throughout the first half of the 20th Century.

There has been a hotel on this site since the early 1860s. The Plough Inn was rebuilt in the 1880s during South Brisbane's economic boom.

The Nepalese Peace Pagoda was part of the Nepalese exhibit for Expo '88. It showcased wood carving as a traditional Nepalese craft.

On 13 February 1896, a disaster occurred on this reach of the Brisbane River. A passenger steamer capsized and passengers were thrown into the raging river. Many people lost their lives in the disaster.

These stone abutments are the remnants of the steel bridge opened in 1897. The original 1874 steel bridge was destroyed by the 1893 floods.

Several areas around the Moreton Bay penal settlement were chosen for agriculture, including New Farm, Kangaroo Point and South Brisbane. Land on this side of the river was cleared and corn planted.

When first opened in 1932, the William Jolly Bridge was known as the Grey Street Bridge. It was built in response to the escalating traffic volumes across the Victoria Bridge.

This hotel was originally called the Montague Hotel and was built in 1891. It was renamed the Coronation Hotel in 1953 after the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II.

This attractive building was completed in 1944 and designed by local architects, Conrad and Gargett. It was built as offices for Paul's Ice Cream and Milk Ltd.

This church was blessed and opened in 1893. From 1870, the Sisters of St Joseph, under the leadership of Mother Mary McKillop (Australia's first saint), taught at the parish school.

In March 1919, an angry mob of up to 8,000 people (mainly returned servicemen) marched across Victoria Bridge. They moved along Melbourne Street toward the Russian Hall in Merivale Street. Known as the 'Red Flag Riots', this was a dramatic event in Brisbane's history.

Completed in 1927, the Hotel Terminus replaced an older hotel onsite. Next door to the hotel was one of Brisbane's most popular night spots - the Trocadero Dansant. The night spot was open from 1923 until after World War II.

This commanding railway station building was constructed in 1891. The design is an expression of South Brisbane's prominence in this era.

During World War II, this was the location of the Dr Carver Club - an American Red Cross Services Club that provided service to African American troops. The club became famous for its jazz club.

The Queensland Cultural Centre includes the Performing Arts Centre, Art Gallery, State Library, Museum and the Gallery of Modern Art (GOMA). The first stage of the precinct was the Art Gallery, which was completed in 1982.