Paddington Cemetery operated from 1844 to 1875. It was located where Suncorp Stadium now stands in Milton.
By 1910, Paddington Cemetery was in disrepair and it was proposed the grounds be turned into a recreation reserve.
The following year, the state government resumed the cemetery and plans were made to relocate the deceased.
The remains of 186 people were removed and reburied, mainly in Toowong Cemetery, and 136 memorials were removed and relocated.
A further 505 memorials and headstones were transferred to a small reserve established next to Christ Church, Milton, in 1913 to 1914.
A register of the reburials was created, but as there were no formal burial registers kept during the cemetery's operation, it was impossible to trace all the 4,643 gravesites that were identified when the cemetery closed.
Learn more about the relocation of Paddington Cemetery in the Brisbane City Archives.